A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book The Fourth: The Miserable Mill

Lemony Snicket


December 2017

$14.99 AU

200p pb

ISBN: 978-1460755914

fp October 2000

return to reviews list

The Miserable Mill is the fourth instalment in A Series Of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. The Baudelaire orphans are sent to yet another person to look after them, after their parents died in a fire in one of the earlier books in the series. This time theyíre sent to a lumber mill to work. The deal with Sir was to keep Count Olaf and his stooges out, but only if they worked for him in the mill.

Lemony Snicket has a really great style of writing. For instance, in adventure novels, the first part is usually happy and then something happens but in the end everything is happy again. However in this book, the first sentence starts out horrible and then it stays the same throughout the rest of the book. 

I give The Miserable Mill an 8/10, because it is really different to many other books Iíve read in the same genre. It is written in a more interesting style and I canít wait to read the fifth instalment in the series to find out what happens to the orphans next.

Matthew, Year 9, Canberra

If you have read this book and would like add your comments below please email your review to YARR-A